Skip to content

Home / About Us
PDF Print E-mail

About ONE and Our Board

Under the leadership of Dan Chiles, Ozarks New Energy grew out of a June 2007 meeting called by Dan to discuss interest in alternative and renewable energy in the Ozarks. The first ONE Conference was held in February 2008 primarily to build awareness of alternative energy resources and technology and to identify expertise. Subsequent conferences were held in 2009 and 2010.  Look for details in the archived section of this site.

Following the ONE 1 Conference, the planning group incorporated as a not-for-profit and later applied for tax-exempt status as a 501(c)(3) entity, which it secured in September 2009. The stated purpose of ONE is “to promote responsible and sustainable energy choices for all of southwest Missouri in an effort to preserve and protect the natural environment for the benefit of the public and to conserve the nation’s unique natural resources, and all things necessary to effectuate such purposes.”

Our board members are:

Susan Adams, Able Manufacturing & Processing, Joplin

Dan Chiles, Emerald Ops (ONE secretary)

Dave Coonrod, former presiding commissioner, Greene County, now with The Ozark Underground Laboratory

Travis Creswell, Ozark Energy Services

Zeke Fairbank, The Alternative Energy Company (ONE president)

Joel Gibson, Northstar Battery

Russ Hopper, Crowder College

Pilar Karlen, Missouri State University (ONE treasurer)

Barbara Lucks, City of Springfield

Jason Ray, Harry S. Truman Coordinating Council

Cindy Stephens, Ozarks Technical Community College

Former board members include Patty Quessenberry, Kraft Foods Springfield; Art Boyt, SolSource GreenBuild; Hollie Elliott, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce; Natasha Longpine, Ozarks Transportation Organization; Randy Scott, Mercy; Doug Neidigh, formerly with Drury University and now with Mercy; Dr. Wendy Anderson, Drury University; Ed Cahoj, National Biomass Producers Association; Chris Carson, Carson-Mitchell; Mike Chiles, Watts Radiant; Alan Fears, O'Reilly Automotive; Jim Gardner, Oakridge Consulting; Jason Hainline, Architectural Energy Corporation; Brian Hamburg, Hamburg and Lyons; Duane Highley, Associated Electric Cooperative; Jerany Jackson, Great River Engineering; Josh Jones, Renew Missouri; Scott Miller, City Utilities; Ryan Mooney, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce; Inno Onwueme, Missouri State University; Tim Schnakenberg, University of Missouri Extension Service; George Van Hoesen, Global Green Building; Dr. Alexander Wait, Missouri State University.

Former coordinator is Jennifer Ailor.



Contact Us

Ozarks New Energy
P.O. Box 3136
Springfield, MO 65808-3136